May 16, 2011

State of Alabama
Press Release: Forestry Commission, Alabama

Irvin Eatman Appointed to Alabama Forestry Commission

C. Irvin Eatman, Jr. of Eutaw, Alabama was recently appointed by Governor Robert Bentley to serve a five-year term on the Alabama Forestry Commission’s Board of Commissioners. This seven-member board, appointed by the Governor and approved by the State Senate, is responsible for setting policy for the Forestry Commission, the state agency charged with protecting and sustaining Alabama’s forest resources.

“We are fortunate to have someone such as Irvin Eatman serve on the Board of Commissioners,” said State Forester Linda Casey. “His knowledge and experience as a forest landowner will be an asset in continuing the AFC mission.”

Retiring in 2010, Eatman spent the last ten years as manager and agent with Wells Fargo Insurance, Inc. in Aliceville, formerly Stirling Duckworth Morris Insurance, Inc. of which he was owner. Previously, he was employed from 1985 to 1990 as Executive Director of the USDA Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (now part of the Farm Service Agency) for Bibb and later Sumter County. He was a partner in the Eatman Farm in Eutaw from 1973 to 1985. Following graduation from Auburn University with a Bachelors degree in Agricultural Economics in 1969, Eatman served as 1st Lieutenant in the US Air Force through 1972.

Currently, Eatman serves as Chairman of the Greene County Forestry Planning Committee and is a member of both the Alabama Forestry Association and the Alabama Forest Landowners Association. He serves on the Board of Directors of Black Warrior Emergency Medical Center, is an Elder and Sunday school teacher at First Presbyterian Church in Aliceville, and is also a member of the Aliceville Rotary Club of which he was formerly President. Past positions include President, Greene County Cattlemen’s Association; Board of Directors, Aliceville Bank & Trust; initial class, Alabama Agriculture & Forestry Leadership Program; Board of Directors, Pickens Academy and Warrior Academy; Deacon, First Presbyterian Church in Eutaw; Vice-President and Rush Chairman, Alpha Gamma Rho Fraternity at Auburn University; and Arnold Air Society, U S Air Force ROTC.

Eatman replaces Jett Freeman of Spanish Fort, who served more than eleven years on the board. Other members of the Alabama Forestry Commission include Chairman Kenneth Real of Detroit, Alabama; Vice-Chairman Johnny McReynolds of Russellville; Randy Gilmore of McCalla; Don Heath of Hoover; Melisa Love of Opelika; and Jerry M. Smith of Vernon. To learn more about the AFC, visit                       



For more information, contact:

Elishia Ballentine at (334) 240-9355


  • For more information, visit
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here