October 1, 2004

State of Alabama
Press Release: Human Resources, Department of

Hurricane Victims: Non-Food Stamp Households in Seven Counties Can Apply for Program

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has approved a plan that permits some hurricane victims who are NOT currently receiving food stamps to apply for the program, the state Department of Human Resources (DHR) announced today. The plan is authorized for the following counties: Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Covington, Escambia, Monroe and Mobile.

"This is an effort to help families who find themselves in need of food stamps because of hurricane-related losses of income and other financial resources," state Department of Human Resources Commissioner Walley explained.

He stressed the fact that, in order to receive the benefits, applicants must meet the eligibility criteria established by the USDA, which sets forth all regulations for the nation’s Food Stamp Program. Commissioner Walley noted that disaster-related food loss alone does not make hurricane victims eligible for food stamp benefits.

The USDA has authorized the Department of Human Resources to accept applications from families in the authorized counties for a five-day period. The following counties will be accepting applications from Monday, October 4 through Friday, October 8: Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Covington, Escambia and Monroe counties. Mobile County will begin accepting applications on Tuesday, October 12 and will continue through Saturday, October 16Identification and Proof of residency at the time of the disaster must be presented when applying for benefits.

Disaster victims approved for food stamps in the designated counties will receive their Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card in the mail in approximately five days.

  • For more information, visit http://dhr.alabama.gov
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here