March 30, 2005

State of Alabama
Press Release: Human Resources, Department of

State DHR Board Presents Hurricane Ivan Awards

The State DHR Board, in appreciation of ‘above and beyond’ efforts during Hurricane Ivan recovery efforts, presented awards to individuals, county departments, and state office staff in recognition of their dedication and hard work.

The awards were presented by board Vice Chair, Jennie Helderman, at the quarterly meeting.

"Providing food and other assistance to Alabama citizens was an awesome task and we are proud of DHR’s response." Remarked Ms. Helderman.

Those receiving awards included:

Baldwin County: Wanda Peavy, Administrative Assistant II and the Baldwin County DHR.

Clarke County: Mary Andrews, Financial Support Supervisor and the Clarke County DHR staff.

Conecuh County DHR staff.

Covington County: Cathy Leverington, Director and the Covington County DHR.

Escambia County: Melinda Robinson, Luella Jackson, Diane Muse and the Escambia County DHR.

Mobile County: Donna Martin and the Mobile County DHR.

Monroe County: Janie Stallworth, Administrative Assistant I and the Monroe County DHR.

Charles Johnson Program Administrator, Office of Emergency Welfare Services and Employee Safety, State DHR. For many hours of service in the Central Command Center and massive coordination efforts.

Joyce O’Neal and her staff in the Food Assistance Division provided leadership and guidance in managing the plans and coordination with USDA/FNS, state government, local governments and State DHR.

  • For more information, visit
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here