May 10, 2024

State of Alabama
Press Release: Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Alabama Students Recognized By ABC Board’s Anti-Underage Drinking Essay, Poster & Video Contest

The Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board is honoring the creativity and commitment of Alabama high school and middle school students who recently participated in the agency’s Essay, Poster and Video Contest.

Thanks to a grant from the National Alcoholic Beverage Control Association, the ABC Board asked middle and high school students to write essays, draw posters, and produce videos that discourage young people from underage and binge drinking.

The contest is part of the ABC Board’s school-based Under Age, Under Arrest public education and awareness campaign that seeks to inform students about the dangers and consequences of underage drinking.

“It is vital that Alabama’s youth understand the dangers and consequences of consuming alcohol,” Curtis Stewart, Alabama ABC Board administrator, said. “We were pleased with the effort and talent put forth by the students who participated.”

Winning entries were selected for first-, second- and third-place prizes in both the middle and high school categories. First-place winners were awarded $300, second-place winners received $200, and third-place winners received $100.

Students entered 74 total individual pieces of work for consideration. Winning entries will appear on the ABC Board’s website and social media accounts.

2024 Alabama ABC Board Essay, Poster and Video Contest Winning Entries

Middle School
First – Joshua Welch
George P. Austin Middle School

Second – Ahmad Rembert
George P. Austin Middle School

Third – Madison Agee
George P. Austin Middle School

High School
First – Bryce Pointer and Connor Woodham
Glenwood School

Second – Lindsey Beavers
Lakeside School

Third (tie) – Hayden Griffith
Elmore County High School

Third (tie) – Addy Helms
Lakeside School

Middle School:
First – Lena Harbough and Aubree Armstrong
Pike Road Junior High School

Second – Dylan Yarema, Walker White and Bryson Suchocki
Pike Road Junior High School

Third (Tie) – Elizabeth Lee, Shamya Sinclair and Jaei Lee
Pike Road Junior High School

High School:
First – Angie Saldivar
Robertsdale High School

Second – Addison Mason
Pike Road High School

Third (tie) – Annabelle Lipscomb
Pike Road High School

Third (tie) – Oswin Colley
Thompson High School

Middle School:
First – Colby Bain
Randolph County High School

Second – Angel Woods, Aubrey Johnson and Zakiyah Johnson
Dunbar Creative and Performing Arts Magnet School

NOTE: No additional middle school video contest entries received.

High School:
First – Juquan Holder
Samson High School

Second – Lucas Sanders
Lindsay Lane Christian Academy

Third (tie) – Brynleigh Burleson, Rayce McGuff, Rachel Guthrie and Hannah Nelson
Satsuma High School

Third (tie) – Maleah Marbury
Ramsay International Baccalaureate High School

  • For more information, visit
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here