January 13, 2022

State of Alabama
Press Release: Medicaid

Information on Billing for Administration of COVID-19 Vaccines (for Non-Pharmacy Providers)

PDF Version

TO: Hospital Providers, Physicians, Nurse Practitioners, Physician Assistants, Federally Qualified Health Centers, Rural Health Clinics, Dentists, and County Health Departments

 

RE:  Information on Billing for Administration of COVID-19 Vaccines (for Non-  Pharmacy Providers)

 

 

Effective October 29, 2021, the Alabama Medicaid Agency covers the following procedure codes for the administration of the Pfizer vaccine for ages 5 to 11: 

 

Administration CPT CODE

Description of Code

Rate

0071A

Administration SARSCV2 10mCG TRS-SUCR – first dose

$40

0072A

Administration SARSCV2 10MCG TRS-SUCR – second dose

$40

 

Medicaid enrolled providers should not bill for the vaccine if using federally allocated vaccines.

 

To participate in the administration of COVID-19 vaccine, Alabama providers must enroll in the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) ImmPRINT COVID-19 Vaccination Program. Follow the steps in the   ImmPRINT Registration Roadmap to enroll.

 

Providers must follow state and federal laws and regulations regarding administration of vaccines. State and federal standing order guidelines for products granted Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) must be followed.
 
For questions, please visit the Medicaid website at www.Medicaid.Alabama.gov, or call the Medicaid Fiscal Agent at 1-800-688-7989.


 

The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Current Dental Terminology (CDT) codes descriptors, and other data are copyright © 2022 American Medical Association and © 2022 American Dental Association (or such other date publication of CPT and CDT). All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS apply.                                                                                                                             




  • For more information, visit http://medicaid.alabama.gov
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here