April 25, 2017

State of Alabama
Press Release: Public Health, Alabama Department of

Identification required to request Alabama restricted vital records

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Cathy Molchan or Nicole Rushing, (334) 206-5426

Valid identification will be required to obtain Alabama restricted vital records effective May 1, 2017.

Restricted vital records are birth records of persons born less than 125 years ago and death records of persons who died less than 25 years ago. Restricted vital records may only be issued to immediate family members and other authorized applicants.

The following documents may be used when requesting a restricted vital record. These primary IDs include a photo and must be current or expired no more than 60 days.

  • Alabama Driver License
  • Out-of-State Driver’s License
  • State-Issued Non-Driver ID
  • U.S. or Foreign Passport
  • U.S. Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • U.S. Military ID
  • Alien Resident Card (Temporary or Permanent)
  • U.S. Employment Authorization Card
  • Citizenship ID
  • Tribal ID
  • Pilot’s License
  • Boating License
  • Concealed Weapons License
  • Ex-Felon ID
  • Inmate ID issued by the U.S. Department of Justice with following documentation: Supporting documents from institution if inmate is still in custody; Letter of release from institution if inmate has been released
  • School ID
  • Alabama Voter ID Card

If one of the primary IDs is not available, at least two secondary IDs are needed. They are as follows:

  • Expired Government-Issued ID
  • Utility Bill (No more than 6 months old)
  • Work ID
  • Vehicle Registration or Vehicle Title
  • Property Tax Bill
  • Military Discharge (DD Form 214)
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Health Insurance Card
  • Recent DMV Receipt for Fines Paid
  • Fishing or Hunting License
  • Copy of Police Report or other official documents which support theft, in cases where individual’s ID has been stolen
  • Autism Spectrum Card
  • Immunization (Shot) Record

In special cases in which the applicant is unable to provide any of these documents, the applicant may contact the Center for Health Statistics, Alabama Department of Public Health, at (334) 206-5418.

The Center for Health Statistics files, stores and issues certified copies of vital records for events that occur in Alabama, such as births, deaths, marriages and divorces. An automated vital records system called ViSION, or Vital Statistics Image Oriented Network, allows vital records to be issued through all Alabama county health departments.

Customers can obtain most vital records through their county health department in 30 minutes or less or through the mail in about seven to 10 days. Records may also be ordered online through VitalChek.com, an authorized service provider, for an additional fee. Processing time for VitalChek requests is one to two business days.

For more information, visit adph.org/vitalrecords.

-30-

4/25/17



  • For more information, visit http://adph.org
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here