November 18, 2008

State of Alabama
Press Release: Forestry Commission, Alabama

McReynolds Appointed to Alabama Forestry Commission

Johnny McReynolds of Russellville was recently appointed by Governor Bob Riley to serve a five-year term on the Alabama Forestry Commission’s Board of Commissioners. This seven-member board is responsible for setting policy for the Forestry Commission, a state agency charged with protecting and sustaining the state’s forest resources.

Mr. McReynolds, a registered forester in both Alabama and Mississippi, is a TREASURE Forest landowner in Alabama as well. He is currently Vice President of Homan Industries where he has been employed for the last 21 years. This company operates two sawmills, one of which is located in Muscle Shoals. Previously, he served as President and Forestry Consultant of Woodlands Managers, Inc. in Russellville. From 1971 through 1985, he was employed as Procurement Manager with Champion International in Courtland, Alabama.

A 1971 graduate of Mississippi State University (MSU) with a Bachelors of Science in Forest Management, Mr. McReynolds also earned a B.A. degree in Business Administration and Economics from MSU in 1968. He replaces Jerry Lacy of Fayette, who served two five-year terms on the AFC Board of Commissioners.

Governor Riley additionally re-appointed Donald W. Heath of Hoover to the Commission for a second term. Mr. Heath served as Board Chairman from 2006 through 2007, providing exemplary leadership. A registered forester in Alabama and graduate of Auburn University, Heath has over 34 years of forestry experience. He has been head of the Natural Resources and Real Estate Department with Regions Bank (formerly AmSouth) since 1995, and currently serves on the boards of directors for White Smith Land Company and Kaul Land Company. Mr. Heath is active with the Cahaba Chapter of the Society of American Foresters and the Alabama Forestry Association, and is a member of the Auburn School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences Advisory council.

Other members of the Alabama Forestry Commission include current Chairman Jerry M. Smith of Vernon, Vice-Chair Melisa Love of Opelika, Jett Freeman of Spanish Fort, Randy Gilmore of McCalla, and Kenneth Real of Detroit, Alabama. To learn more about the AFC, visit                      


  • For more information, visit
  • For more state-wide press releases, click here